

PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org

Phone: 402.359.2583 Fax: 402.359.4371

Engage, Prepare, and Empower

Jim Knott Board Report High School Principal May 12, 2025

We are planning on offering a traditional summer school option for our high school credit-deficient students. The summer school session will run Monday-Friday, June 2-20 from 8:00-11:00. Students must attend 12 sessions out of 15 and complete 100% of the class to earn one semester of credit. Ms. Richards, Mr. Baker, and Ms. Cox will set up and run summer school. Eligible students will use this time to make up credits missed during the regular school year.

On Friday, May 2<sup>nd</sup>, the senior scholarship breakfast was held at 7:00 a.m. in the North Gym. Seniors and their families were invited to receive and honor those receiving scholarships. This year, 30 seniors received scholarships in the amount of \$5 million. High School Counselor Ms. Katie Richards stated, "We had a great turnout for the Senior Scholarship Breakfast this year! I'd like to thank the community families and organizations who awarded scholarships and invested in our students' future. They play a major role in setting our seniors up for success! The breakfast was prepared by Kelly Ellis and the high school food service team and was delicious! One last shout-out to Mrs. Nikki Billedeaux as she is the one who organizes the morning and makes sure it runs smoothly!"

The senior's last day of class was Wednesday, May 7. Graduation practice was held in the gym from 8:45-10:45 followed by the traditional elementary, middle, and high school tunnel walk and senior grill out. Graduation was held on Sunday, May 11 at 2:00 pm. 76 seniors completed all DC West graduation requirements signifying the end of their high school careers and the beginning of a new chapter of their lives. Jaeda Bakken, Kelan Bohlen, Trent Davidson, Brody Hillyer, Remy Kirby, Miles Korb, Bryce Larsen, and Mitchell Sullivan were members of the top 10% of the class and had the opportunity the speak for the Class of 2025. CONGRATULATIONS SENIORS!

SENIOR ACADEMIC AWARDS LISTED ON PAGE 2



PO Box 378, Valley, Nebraska 68064 www.DCWest.org

Phone: 402.359.2583

Fax: 402.359.4371

## Engage, Prepare, and Empower

### Nebraska Capital Conference All-Academic Team

\*3.5 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA

\*25 Minimum ACT Score

Jaeda Bakken Brody Hillyer Bryce Larsen Sarah Perkons Colton Willmott Trent Davidson
Catherine Johnson
Cameron Madden
Mitchell Sullivan
Dakota Wolter

Alexis File
Miles Korb
Avery Maline
Kayden VerMaas

#### President's Award of Academic Achievement

\*3.0 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA
\*Made Outstanding Growth in English, Math, or Science

Sydney Atkins Markus Dorson Lily Herman Roen Murdock Evan Steele Jackson Denker
Huston Farrens
Aspen Huber
Samuel Musson

Jagger Denker Makenna Green Kiya Johnson Carli Ptacek

# EST

#### President's Award of Academic Excellence

\*3.5 Minimum Cumulative High School GPA
\*24 Minimum ACT Score

Karsten Alexander
Will Bergsten
Tieler Collette
Alexis File
Robert Graves IV
Stella Higginson
Catherine Johnson
Gavin Lakner
Avery Maline
Madelyn Mitchell
Zoe Teitler
Brody Walsh
Maddison Zach

Jamison Badje
Kelan Bohlen
Trent Davidson
Austin Fletcher
Chloe Greve
Brody Hillyer
Remy Kirby
Bruce Larsen
Grant Mayer
Sarah Perkons
Luke Thimmesch
Colton Willmott

Jaeda Bakken
Abby Boulogne
Carleigh Dembinski
Grace Getsfred
Ava Grimm
Bryar Jensen
Miles Korb
Cameron Madden
Colton Meduna
Mitchell Sullivan
Kayden VerMaas
Dakota Wolter